The Stamm Family from New Brunswick, NJ



Hessen has had ever-changing boundaries. The northern part of Hessen (from Frankfurt north) was known as Oberhessen (Upper Hessen), and the southern part (south of Frankfurt) was known as Starkenburg, after the castle of the same name, located in the Odenwald (the Forest of Odes).


The provincial nature of Hessen ended in 1945. Reorganization designated it a state.


The modern state of Hessen in Germany was officially created on October 16, 1945 by decree of the occupying U.S. forces of war-torn Germany. The new Hessen incorporated the province of Kurhessen.


Kurhessen (the "electorate" of Hessen under the Holy Roman Empire) included the following district in the 1840s.


Niederhessen contained the towns Kassel, Eschwege, Fritzlar, Hofgeismar, Homberg, Melsungen, Rotenburg, Schaumburg, Witzenhousen, and Wolfhagen.


Today Kurhessen is known as Hessen-Kassel.

Hessen (Hesse) Hesse is English for Hessen.


Hessen-Homburg (Hesse-Homburg) (Landgraviate) (1817-1866) part of the Palatinate/Pfalz


Langraviate of Hesse-Homburg, passes back to Hesse-Darmstadt in 1866. Then the Hessen-Homburg lands are taken by Prussia following Hessen-Darmstadt's defeat in the Austro-Prussian War.


Hesse-Homburg was a very tiny fragment of Hesse, consisting of little more than the city of Homburg and its environs, just north of Frankfurt-am-Main. Taken by Napoleon for the Confederation of the Rhine, it was restored by the Congress of Vienna. After all five sons of Frederick V served as Landgrave and died without male heir, title reverted in 1866 to what had become the Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt. However, Prussia annexed Hesse-Cassel in 1866, and for some reason Homburg ended up in the catch.